There’s Nothing Like Family. ♥

Sometimes you don’t realize how much you’ve been hurting and feeling a little lost until you hear the comforting voice of a family member you haven’t talked to in awhile.  And tonight, that was me.  I called my grandma for her 85th birthday, and right when she picked up and knew it was me, nothing but unconditional love, joy, and pride poured out of the other end of the line.  Before I could squeeze in a “Happy birthday!” she asked, “How’s my sweetheart?” with pure love, care, and concern in her voice.  I was so. grateful.  Wow.  That little moment of talking to someone who loves you unconditionally and thinks the world of you pulled at my heartstrings, and I immediately got teary eyed when she asked that simple question.  I thought, “Wow, I needed to hear that so badly.”  Nothing, nothing, can replace the love of family.  The lack of judgment.  The never-ending support.  The genuine care and concern and just an unspoken understanding.  The thing eerily similar to God’s unconditional love and taking us as we are.  It’s like this void has formed in my life ever since being on my own over the summer and college starting back up, a lack of that type of love and care and concern.  Friends are great, college is great, but there’s nothing like unconditional familial love.  And after all the hardships I’ve faced in the past few months, I’ve become extremely fragile.  I’ve been slowly healing and walking through a journey of grief.  I’ve had angry days and vulnerable days and days where I’m just sad.  And I get frustrated with myself on those days, because I don’t want to be angry or sad or upset, but I’ve realized that this is a slow process, and when the insomnia and sadness hits, I can’t really do anything about it.  I have to acknowledge it, work through it, and let it pass.  Otherwise things will become bottled up or suppressed and unhealthily hit me later.  So with all of this, family is so beautiful and so important for healing.  Family members love you, know you, and care about you in ways that no one else does.  They hurt when you’re hurting.  And that?  That’s love.

So tonight?  Call your mom, dad, brother, sister, or grandma.  Even if you haven’t talked in awhile or aren’t on the best terms, I encourage you to do it.  If you think you don’t have time, you do.  It’s worth it.  Call someone you love and thank them.  It’s good for the soul.  For both your souls. 🙂

Wishing you a peaceful night,

♥Lauren

Leave a Reply

