Inspiring Music. Inspiring Stories. :)

Sorry for not blogging in awhile, guys.  It’s midterms, and life is crazy.  But Fall Break is only a few days away, and I’ll be headed on a service trip to West Virginia!  Can’t wait!

So since I haven’t blogged in awhile, I thought I’d share random bits of inspiration that I’ve found or collected over the last week or so.  Enjoy!

The first is a link to a video by the Rend Collective Experiment about their new album, Campfire.  All their music is amazing and has been my study playlist lately!  But what’s really cool is that they recorded their new album around a campfire, and this video explains why.  The community, stories, and presence of God that occur around a bonfire are beautiful. 🙂  So check it out!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vk2MpaTEzXw

Another thing that I’m super excited about is my Honors Thesis for senior year!  I’ve been trying to figure out how to tie together my two biggest passions, theatre and serving others, for months now, and I think I’ve finally found what I want to do!  There are some amazing programs out there that use theatre to help refugees with the reintegration process, helping them find their voices, self-confidence, and courage again.  Helping them to tell their stories and find healing in that.  Helping them discover what hope and forgiveness mean to them.  The articles I’ve read and videos (see the two links below of Francois Awad with the STARTTS organization) I’ve seen of workshops where theatre artists work with refugees to put together performances featuring their stories expressed through dance, music, and acting have inspired me so much and reaffirmed even more that this is what I want to do for my thesis!  I’m dreaming big here and trying not to limit myself–so this summer I hope to travel to Italy or Africa and work with one of these theatre programs!  Theatre and the arts can help the suffering in astounding and unique ways.  If any of you have any connections or ideas for me about this, please let me know!  THANK YOU!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WvNhooKOlmI

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HsVdki4hIok

Have a beautiful week. 🙂

♥Lauren

2 thoughts on “Inspiring Music. Inspiring Stories. :)

  1. I am glad to welcome you to following Stones and Feathers! I want to commend you for pursuing the intersection of art and faith with theatre. Helping people tell their stories is so important.

Leave a Reply

