Your Favorite Thing: Share Your Story! :)

Hi everyone! I can’t believe it’s been over a month since I last blogged! I hope you are all doing well. 🙂

So over fall break I went on an amazing and life-changing service trip to Mullens, West Virginia with a group of students from my college. We spent four days building a park with trails and a beautiful picnic area along a river there. It was so inspiring to see how when you get a group of people together with the same passion and drive for a common purpose of service, amazing things happen.  But the best part of the trip was all the beautiful conversations with the other students on the trip and especially with the residents of Mullens.  It really hit home with me how badly the world needs love.  Everyone is suffering in one way or another, and everyone’s story deserves and inherently needs to be told, especially when it is a story of hardship, not only so lessons can be learned and wounds can be forgiven, but also so the person can find healing and hope.

Love. Love others and listen to their stories. The broken world needs love so badly.

During our reflection time on the service trip, one of the questions we were all asked to share was what is your favorite thing about yourself?  It is such a hard question!  I was caught totally off-guard and really had to think about it.  I guess sometimes we forget to think about our good qualities when we’re so focused on always improving or on our faults out of self-consciousness, external pressures, or fear.  I ended up answering that my favorite thing about myself is my deep compassion and empathy for others.

So my question to you, all of you reading this post, is what is your favorite thing about yourself?  Feel free to comment below and answer. After all, your story deserves to be heard. 🙂 Ask this question to your family, friends, co-workers, etc.  Spread the love. 🙂

Have a beautiful evening, smile, breathe, be grateful, and love.

♥Lauren

Leave a Reply

